A Fractured Light by Jocelyn Davies

Title: A Fractured Light
Author: Jocelyn Davies 
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release Date: 09/25/2012
Pages: 352 Pages
Rating: 3 stars

Summary from Goodreads
When she wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, Skye knows something terrible has happened to her. It's not until she hears Asher, the dark, rebellious angel she fell in love with, that the memories come flooding back. She tries to put the past behind her, but she knows she'll be forever haunted by the ruthless betrayal that almost took her life.

Skye returns home, but with the knowledge of who she really is, nothing can ever be the same. As she tests the limits of her newfound powers, Skye discovers that she's capable of far more than anyone could have imagined. Both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as war between the factions looms. She can't forget the terrifying truth she now knows about the Order, but something holds her back from embracing the Rebellion.

A Fractured Light picks up right after A Beautiful Dark's shocking cliffhanger ending and is perfect for fans of Lauren Kate's Fallen and Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush, Hush saga

 A Fracture Light is the second book in the Beautiful Dark series; the book begins right where A Beautiful Dark leaves off.  Skye wakes up in the cabin with Asher nearby and the constant reminder of how she was betrayed by Devin.  She returns home, trying to harness her new powers and dealing with the complications of disappearing after Cassie’s accident.  Skye seems to have clearly chosen Asher, yet seems to question that decision when Devin is the only person who can help explain her visions. It is not the typical love triangle but close to, with the typical good vs. bad boy dilemmas (Devin being the Guardian angel and Asher being the Rebel angel).   While the book does not have the intense cliffhanger the first book did, it is clearly left without resolution for the third book. 

I was excited for the second installment of the series yet was unfortunately disappointed.  The book had a slow moving pace, I kept reading and reading hoping for something more exciting to happen.  There was more history given about the Guardians and the Rebels which was a plus.   But it seemed like a filler book with a weaker plot, there was nothing really unexpected or captivating.

Overall the book was average, I am hoping the third book really sums up all the loose ends. I was torn between a 2.5 and a 3 but ended up giving A Fractured Light a 3 because even though it was a bit cliche sometimes I liked the love story between Asher and Skye as well as all the angel aspects of the book.  



  1. Thank you for the review. I also dislike slow moving books. It sounds like one I will stay away from.

  2. i like the way book tlak to you and the cover is great


Copyright © 2014 The Quiet Concert
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs