I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

Title: I Am Princess X
Author: Cherie Priest
Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books
Release Date: May 26th 2015
Source: ARC received from publisher

Summary from Goodreads:
Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a long-lost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen; illustrated throughout with comics.

Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure.

Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.

Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window.

Princess X?

When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There's an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby's story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenon---her best friend, Libby, who lives.


What a fun creative book! 

I was undecided on even rating this one because in the ARC most of the graphics are missing/have place holders.  One of the stand out unique elements of this book is how it is told through both comic form and regular story form. But even with the placeholder notes, I adored I am Princess X.

It reads like a comic or Disney movie, with a clear good vs. evil theme.  The hero and side-kick have great friendly banter while taking on their crazy life saving mission.  While the plot does have a bit more "fiction-superhero-y"  action scenes, the voice of each character felt genuine and honest.  This great character development translated all the way down to the villain who has a well written thought out back story.  Aside from the good versus evil theme, friendship is a huge driving force within the story.  May's loyalty towards her missing friend is admirable, the lengths and dangers she is will to go through to save her friend truly make her awesome.

I Am Princess X took my completely by surprise, this fast pace fairy tale meets superhero book is a refreshingly different kind read! I would say it is geared towards younger YA, though it did not keep me from thoroughly enjoying this light fun read.

Copyright © 2014 The Quiet Concert
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs