All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Title:All the Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Publisher: Knopf
Release Date:January 6th 2015

Summary from Goodreads:
The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.


I loved this book; the characters, the relationships, and the story are beautifully written.  Finch is a dynamic, charismatic, witty, and at times completely off the wall.  His wild personality is the opposite of Violet yet compliments her at the same time.  Since the accident Violet has become scared, withdrawn, and reserved; Finch is the only one with the power to change her.  All the Bright Places is a heavily character driven plot that focuses on love, adventure, and finding life worth living. It is one of my favorite aspects of the story!

All the Bright Places tackles some tough topics regarding suicide and mental health disorders.  It really leaves you thinking of your perspective on the topics. The chapters alternate point-of-view between Finch and Violet, giving the reader insight into each character.  Some of Finch's chapters are hard to read and understand what is going on; the writing parallels the scattered thoughts and Finch's current mental state.   The ending took me by surprise, and tore me apart. I guess I should have expected some tears based on the book blurb and the authors mentioned.

I commend Jennifer Niven for taking such a serious topic and developing it so well.  As I already mentioned, the characters are exceptional.  They will make you laugh, they will make you cry, and they will want to make you wander your town looking for adventures.  The mini trips and adventures make for such a unique and changing setting.  I highly recommend All The Bright Place if you are in the mood for a more serious yet intriguing  life saving love story.

Copyright © 2014 The Quiet Concert
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs